What's in a name?


Cartersville, Montana and Carter County, Montana were both named for Thomas Henry Carter, Montana's first congressman.

Carterville or Cartersville (depending on which state highway sign one sees) is an unincorporated community in Rosebud County, Montana, north of the Yellowstone River. A U.S. Post Office was established there in 1907 and remained in operation until it was discontinued in 1957. Cartersville also had a school for many years until students were bussed to Rosebud.

The community, and the road which runs north of the Yellowstone river from Forsyth to Rosebud, were named for Thomas H. Carter, a U.S. Senator from Montana who owned land in the area. Carter County was also named for him.

Thomas H. (H...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 09/18/2023 16:39